Coverart for item
The Resource Black square : adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham

Black square : adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham

Label
Black square : adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine
Title
Black square
Title remainder
adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine
Statement of responsibility
Sophie Pinkham
Title variation
Adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"This captivating and original narrative blends politics, history, and reportage in a street-level account of a vexing and troubled region. In the tradition of Elif Batuman and Ian Frazier, Black Square presents an evocative, multidimensional portrait of Ukrainian life under the shadow of Putin. In vivid, original prose, Sophie Pinkham draws us into the fascinating lives of her contemporaries--a generation that came of age after the fall of the USSR, only to see protestors shot on Kiev's main square, Maidan; Crimea annexed by Russia; and a bitter war in eastern Ukraine. Amid the rubble, Pinkham tells stories that convey a youth culture flourishing within a tragically corrupt state. We meet a charismatic, drug-addicted doctor helping to smooth the transition to democracy, a Bolano-esque art gallerist prone to public nudity, and a Russian Jewish clarinetist agitating for Ukrainian liberation. With a deep knowledge of Slavic literature and a keen, outsider's eye for the dark absurdity of post-Soviet society, Pinkham delivers an indelible impression of a country on the brink."--Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pinkham, Sophie
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ukraine
  • Ukraine
  • Ukraine
Label
Black square : adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"First published in Great Britain under the title Black Square: Adventures in the Post-Soviet World" -- title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
New worlds. The Paris of Siberia ; Resurrection ; City of gardens, city of ravines ; Men's day -- Living together. Buckwheat and rye ; Carpathian cowboys ; The people's music ; The last Jew in Stalindorf ; The kingdom of the dead -- Revolution. Dreaming of Europe ; Are you alive, brother? ; Masks and monuments ; Reunion ; The wild steppe -- War and peace. Heroes don't die ; Crashing ; New Year in Kiev ; Rocket city ; Victory day
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
xv, 288 pages
Isbn
9780393247978
Lccn
2016031600
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
  • (OCoLC)937452280
  • (OCoLC)ocn937452280
  • 848627
Label
Black square : adventures in Post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham
Publication
Copyright
Note
"First published in Great Britain under the title Black Square: Adventures in the Post-Soviet World" -- title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
New worlds. The Paris of Siberia ; Resurrection ; City of gardens, city of ravines ; Men's day -- Living together. Buckwheat and rye ; Carpathian cowboys ; The people's music ; The last Jew in Stalindorf ; The kingdom of the dead -- Revolution. Dreaming of Europe ; Are you alive, brother? ; Masks and monuments ; Reunion ; The wild steppe -- War and peace. Heroes don't die ; Crashing ; New Year in Kiev ; Rocket city ; Victory day
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
xv, 288 pages
Isbn
9780393247978
Lccn
2016031600
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
  • (OCoLC)937452280
  • (OCoLC)ocn937452280
  • 848627

Library Locations

    • Topeka & Shawnee County Public LibraryBorrow it
      1515 SW 10th Ave , Topeka, Kansas, 66604, US
      39.050746 -95.696533
Processing Feedback ...