Coverart for item
The Resource Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel, Sherry Jones

Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel, Sherry Jones

Label
Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel
Title
Josephine Baker's last dance
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Sherry Jones
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones spans Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, to her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, to her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today"--
  • From servitude and poverty in America, Josephine Baker rose to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt. Along the way she was a Civil Rights activist-- and a member of the French Resistance during WWII. This novel follows Baker from 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance. -- adapted from publisher info
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1961-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jones, Sherry
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Baker, Josephine
  • African American entertainers
  • African American women
  • African Americans
  • Biographical fiction
  • Historical fiction
Label
Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel, Sherry Jones
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Extent
365 pages
Isbn
9781501102448
Lccn
2018003367
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1022695317
  • (OCoLC)on1022695317
  • 983139
Label
Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel, Sherry Jones
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Extent
365 pages
Isbn
9781501102448
Lccn
2018003367
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1022695317
  • (OCoLC)on1022695317
  • 983139

Library Locations

    • Topeka & Shawnee County Public LibraryBorrow it
      1515 SW 10th Ave , Topeka, Kansas, 66604, US
      39.050746 -95.696533
Processing Feedback ...