Coverart for item
The Resource Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings

Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings

Label
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism
Title
Paradise now
Title remainder
the story of American utopianism
Statement of responsibility
Chris Jennings
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Jill Lepore, Joseph J. Ellis, and Tony Horwitz comes a lively, thought-provoking intellectual history of the golden age of American utopianism--and the bold, revolutionary, and eccentric visions for the future put forward by five of history's most influential utopian movements, "--Amazon.com
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1982-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jennings, Chris
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Utopias
  • Communitarianism
  • National characteristics, American
Label
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 387-467) and index
Contents
Introduction : Man-made millennium -- The Shakers : American zion -- New Harmony : The great infidel experiment -- The Fourierist Phalanxes : The lemonade sea -- Icaria : People of the book -- Oneida : Kingdom come -- Conclusion : The future ain't what it used to be
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 488 pages
Isbn
9780812993707
Lccn
2015008149
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)911517846
  • (OCoLC)ocn911517846
  • 751533
Label
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 387-467) and index
Contents
Introduction : Man-made millennium -- The Shakers : American zion -- New Harmony : The great infidel experiment -- The Fourierist Phalanxes : The lemonade sea -- Icaria : People of the book -- Oneida : Kingdom come -- Conclusion : The future ain't what it used to be
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 488 pages
Isbn
9780812993707
Lccn
2015008149
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)911517846
  • (OCoLC)ocn911517846
  • 751533

Library Locations

    • Topeka & Shawnee County Public LibraryBorrow it
      1515 SW 10th Ave , Topeka, Kansas, 66604, US
      39.050746 -95.696533
Processing Feedback ...